Due to the ever-changing and often specific structures of your teams, you need the option to share your Projects (or Templates) with the Group, while also keeping others private. In Labfolder, you can customize the Share Settings of all your content to ensure just the right people are seeing them.
Note: Only Owners and Admins can define Share Settings and therefore share content on Group or Subgroup level. Sharees will have read-only access to colleague's entries but can contribute with their own data entries. It is possible to change ownership, however. Please, read the roles and rights article to further the topic.
To share a Project or a Folder containing Projects with Group members, please follow the steps below:
- Go to Manage > Projects.
- Open the Group projects Folder where the respective Project/Folder is located.
- Hover over the Project/Folder you wish to share and click on the Gearwheel icon on the right. Select Share settings.
- A window named Settings will appear. Click on the box next to the people you would like to share these data with.
- Click Save to confirm.
Of course, you are always able to go back and change the access right settings.
Note: Folder share settings inherit to Project share settings, but not vice versa. In other words: If a Folder is shared with UserX, then the Projects in that Folder will also be shared with UserX. If a Project is shared with UserY, this does not entail that the Folder or other Projects within are shared as well. Note also: You can add users individually to a Project, but you cannot remove users individually if they have been added as a Group. In such a situation, you can only remove the Group as a whole and then add the users to remain in the Project individually back in.
Tip: The exact same procedure is available for templates, except that the first step is MANAGE > Templates.