Note: In order to use the following options, the Advanced Version of Labfolder is required. Only Administrators of the main Group, but no Subgroup Admin, can edit the general settings of Groups.
- Data safeguarding
To ensure the integrity of your research data and facilitate compliance with Good Laboratory Practices (GLP), Group members should be prevented from deleting content (including Templates). Thus, all Users, including the Admin, cannot delete Projects or any other data from the ELN. Projects will merely be hidden if a User removes them from their view.
- Private Projects
It is possible to manage private Projects within the ELN. They can only be viewed by the Owner, so these Projects cannot be shared nor be accessed by the Group Admin. As an Admin, you have the possibility to switch off/prevent this option, for example, if you want to make sure that all results are documented in the Labfolder Group space.
Note: If the Admin of the Group does not allow private Projects, Users will be prompted with a warning when invited. If the setting is selected, all private Projects of newly invited Group members are moved into the respective Group Folder.
- Template creation restriction
The setting option "Only group administrators can create templates" is intended to (help) prevent rampant Template creation in larger Groups and to facilitate separation of areas of responsibility.
- Subgroup membership
The idea of the Subgroup membership is to allow a better organization of your research team members, through the option Users can be members of several Subgroups. Thus, a User can be a member of several Subgroups.
To activate one, two or all three options, please follow the steps below:
- Go to Manage > Groups.
- Click on the Group that needs to be modified.
- Click on settings, located in the Administration section on the upper right-hand side.
- On the new page, click on edit in Members rights.
- Set options as needed.
- Data safeguarding: Check the option Prevent group members from deleting content.
- Private Projects: Check the option Prevent group members from having private Projects.
- Template creation restriction: Check the option Only group administrators can create templates.
- Subgroup membership: Check the option Users can be members of several Subgroups.
- Click on SAVE to execute.